“Marines Gave Me Gold” Tanka 3760


marines gave me all:

press pass, travel* orders;

a rifle and more

do seven stories a month

photos welcome as lagniappe

*(When I got to Viet-Nam, Republic of South; the First Marine Division (-) (Reinf) issued me a press pass and something called Repeat Travel Orders, which said, in essence, so long as I stayed clear of Saigon and DaLat (where suspicions said not just Wigs of Big in South Vietnam ensconced their ones of – by and for – love in nice villa retreats, but also some hints of secret nuclear energy(?) program might be found. As per usual, we were not allowed to know – and more importantly, to write – about anything I remain convinced our enemies already knew. We were censoring not just our troops, but our press and America as well. Nothing new there, and I suspect remains the same still.)

One thought on ““Marines Gave Me Gold” Tanka 3760

Comments are closed.